Our networks - Trade Mark attorneys Australia - Photo CC-BY flickr.com/webwizzard/3931165612

Stay informed

Sign up for our quarterly IP Update e-Mag and keep on top of the latest IP news and cases.

Subscribe now »
Read the lastest issue »

Industry sponsorships

Davies Collison Cave is a proud sponsor of the following competitions, awards and positions:






Swinburne Venture Cup - Swinburne University of Technology

The Swinburne Venture Cup is a new venture planning competition for teams of Swinburne students at each section of the University: TAFE, undergraduate and postgraduate.

The Swinburne Venture Cup aims to align the classroom experience with real-world, entrepreneurial experience. The initiative aims to provide students with experience and to help them to identify practical entrepreneurial opportunities.

2009 Winner

Swinburne Venture Cup - sponsored by Davies Collison Cave intellectual property and patent attorneys

The winner of the DCC Commercialisation of Intellectual Property Prize of in kind IP services to the value of A$5,000 was Interaction Dynamics Pty Ltd. They have developed a solution to increase the number of customer conversions on web based sales platforms.

Pictured with DCC partner Mark Roberts are Matt Leeburn, Managing Director, and Bill Scales AO, Chancellor of the University.

2008 Winner

Kim McLeod (pictured), CEO of Industry 11 Technologies was the Swinburne Venture Cup recipient of the Davies Collison Cave prize for his Bollard Handling System concept.

In early 2009, Industry 11 released the world's first Bollard Handling System. The product boasts capabilities of increased efficiency and safety by eliminating human labour in the tedious and dangerous process of deploying and collecting T-Top bollards. T-Top bollards are the most common delineating device used by Traffic Management companies around Australia.


Trailblazer UniQuest Competition

Trailblazers (www.uniquest.com.au) is a competition run in conjunction with University of Queensland, University of Technology Sydney, James Cook University, University of Wollongong and University of Tasmania with the aim of identifying and rewarding innovative early stage research ideas having the potential to benefit community, industry or business. The winners share in a significant prize pool to further develop their research ideas.

2010 Winners

  Open Winners Student Winners
University of Queensland Felicity Rose
Obesity & Diabetes Treatment
William Hawker & team
Nickel & Cobalt Processing Innovation
Nicola Burton & team
READY Adult Resilience Training
Melissa Benson & team
Callum Hickey
Water Filtration Device
Holly Corbett & team
Microneedle/Nanopatch Applicator
James Cook University Alan Nimmo
Therapeutic control of Peritumoral Oedema
Katie Moon
University of Woollongong Katarina Mikac
April Ash & team Virtu-Real
University of Technology Sydney Andrew Hutchinson & team
Therapy for autoimmune –related disorders
Duncan Hellmers Dripdome
Seed Germination
University of Tasmania Susan Lambert & team
WaterProfit Irrigation Technology
Tim Law
Innovative Air-conditioning

2009 Winners



Engineers Australia (Sydney Division) Excellence Awards

The "Innovation and Inventions" Excellence Awards (ea.australiandesign.org.au) encourage excellence, both in the community and engineering profession, through the identification, acknowledgment, reward and promotion for outstanding accomplishments in the advancement of the science and practice of engineering.

DCC has been a sponsor of this Award since 2000.


Engineers Australia (Queensland Division) Excellence Awards

The Control Systems, networks , Information Processing and Telecommunications Award is presented annually by Davies Collison Cave. For more information, click here.


BioMelbourne Network

DCC is a member of the BioMelbourne Network and consistently sponsors the network's CEO Forum Luncheons, breakfasts and seminars.

The BioMelbourne Network (www.biomelbourne.org) is Victoria’s leading Industry and Business Development agency, focussed at the executive decision maker level of the Victorian biotechnology sector. The Network is industry led and industry responsive, with over 120 Member organisations, and is actively engaged with all the main organisations in the Victorian Research, Academic and Business Services sectors.


IPRIA/University of Melbourne, Faculty of Law

Davies Collison Cave has been the sole sponsor of the Chair of Intellectual Property at The University of Melbourne for the past seven years. Davies Collison Cave regularly sponsors Intellectual Property Research Institute of Australia (IPRIA) educational seminars.

IPRIA is a national centre for multi-disciplinary research on the law, economics and management of intellectual property. It is based at the University of Melbourne, and is run jointly by the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Economics and Commerce, and Melbourne Business School.




AusBiotech is Australia's biotechnology industry organisation, which represents over 3,000 members, covering the human health, agricultural, medical device, bioinformatics, environmental and industrial sectors in biotechnology. It’s mission is to cultivate a supportive environment to enable companies to grow and advance their commercial interests and assist them to become global - thereby positioning Australia’s biotechnology industry as a significant market for attracting international interest and investment.

Davies Collison Cave consistently sponsors events held by AusBiotech, including: its national conference, seminars, and the end of year AusBiotech NSW networking event.


Tertiary intellectual property courses

The firm proudly sponsors the following IP subjects at some of Australia’s best law faculties:

  • Melbourne University Law School (LLM): Copyright Law, Trade mark practice, Patent Law.
  • Monash University Law School (LLB): Biotechnology and the Law, Intellectual Property II: Patents Trade Marks and Unfair Competition
  • Deakin University (LLB): Intellectual Property
  • University of Technology Sydney, The Davies Collison Cave Prize for Trade marks Law: This prize was established in 1996 and is annually awarded to the student who obtains the highest mark in the postgraduate subject Trade marks Law: www.uts.edu.au


Davies Collison Cave Chair of Intellectual Property – University of Melbourne

Davies Collison Cave is committed to continuing intellectual property education, with over twenty members of the firm teaching courses at tertiary institutions. The firm also proudly sponsors the Chair of Intellectual Property in the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Law.

Photo of Andrew Christie - first Davies Collison Cave Professor of Intellectual PropertyAndrew Christie was appointed as the first Davies Collison Cave Professor of Intellectual Property in 2002. He was also the founding director of the Intellectual Property Research Institute of Australia (IPRIA), a national centre for multi-disciplinary research on the law, economics and management of intellectual property. IPRIA is based at the University of Melbourne, and is a joint enterprise of the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Economics and Commerce, and Melbourne Business School.

Professor Christie is admitted to legal practice in Australia and the United Kingdom, and worked for many years in the intellectual property departments of law firms in Melbourne and London. He has particular expertise in the application of copyright, patent and trade mark law to the digital environment, and in patent protection for biotechnological innovations.

Professor Christie is a former member of the Copyright Law Review Committee, and is a current member of the Advisory Council on Intellectual Property appointed by the Federal Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources.

In July 2005 Professor Christie was identified by the leading international magazine Managing IP as one of the world's 50 most influential people in intellectual property.